Running on the Roof of the World - by Jess Butterworth

  • £6.99


Running on the Roof of the World - by Jess Butterworth

SHORTLISTED for the Awesome Book Awards 2019

A richly atmospheric story of survival and hope set in Tibet and India, filled with friendship, love and courage. This young girl's thrilling journey to save her parents is an ideal read for fans of Katherine Rundell, Lauren St John or Polly Ho-Yen.

Join 12-year-old Tash and her best friend Sam in a story of adventure, survival and hope, set in the vivid Himalayan landscape of Tibet and India. Filled with friendship, love and courage, this young girl's thrilling journey to save her parents is an ideal read for children aged 9-12.

There are two words that are banned in Tibet. Two words that can get you locked in prison without a second thought. I watch the soldiers tramping away and call the words after them. 'Dalai Lama.'

Tash has to follow many rules to survive in Tibet, a country occupied by Chinese soldiers. But when a man sets himself on fire in protest and soldiers seize Tash's parents, she and her best friend Sam must break the rules. They are determined to escape Tibet - and seek the help of the Dalai Lama himself in India.

And so, with a backpack of Tash's father's mysterious papers and two trusty yaks by their side, their extraordinary journey across the mountains begins.

'Daring kids, sidekick yaks, Himalayan setting - all the ingredients of a smashing adventure.' Abi Elphinstone

'There's inevitably a political element to the story, pitched at just the right level, but this is also an exciting adventures with vivid descriptions of the landscape. A story relevant to the world that we live in today, told with compassion and understanding.' — The Guardian

'This is an excellent story it maintains a good pace throughout and is filled with insights into both Tibetan and Indian culture.' — The School Librarian